Springy 10 miles

Yesterday I killed a 10 mile training run – my first double-digit run since the marathon. It went surprisingly well considering the rough days I had before the run.
On Friday night, my piano playing neighbor had a sing-along party. I’d fall asleep for like 30 minutes and be woken up to european college kids singing Imagine. Repeat until about 3am. Oh, and I had to be in at work at 6 am on Saturday. I pushed it to 7:00, but it was still rough. After a full 8 hour shift, I came home, took a nap, and then it was out to watch the Pacquiao fight. It’s a good thing he won because we were the only table full of Asians in that place. The night ended, as all “good” nights do, with a trip to Olneyville New York System. I don’t know if I can adequately describe the full experience but I will sum it up by saying that you ONLY eat hot dogs-covered-in-meat-and-onions at 3am, however probably SHOULD NOT eat it the night (morning?) before running 10 miles.
I got a little sleep and the sun forced me out of bed at 10. Pre-run, I ate two Feed Zone cinnamon bites and a little peanut butter, with some Starbucks instant coffee. It was a perfect day for running. Breezy, overcast, and already 60 degrees by the time I got to the trail. I even left my phone in the car and ran without any music. This is how I felt before the run:
april13_run
During the run, I ate two Feed Zone chocolate rice balls. My brother gave me  Cytomax to try and I couldn’t even stand the smell of it when I was mixing it up. but I drank 8oz of it at half strength during the run. It was barely tolerable. I’ll go back to Nuun or Gatorade. Or this:
april13_bourbon
Anyway the run itself was really good. I felt good, it was a beautiful day, and I didn’t say I never wanted to run again. Was it the hot wieners? Who knows. It was 4 pm by the time I showered and cooked, and sat down to my first real meal of the day: made bourbon french toast. After eating “brunch” at such a weird hour, I had a small dinner of quesadilla with kale salad. Quesadilla on a low-carb tortilla has been my thing this week, possibly forever. The kale salad can go away though.april13_dinner

I must not have eaten enough yesterday because today I devoured a chicken pesto panini and felt guilty about it, especially after the french toast binge the day before. I’m stuck in this cycle of 5 days of clean eating, then eating all of the bread in sight. but let’s not get into that now.
I have one more long run left before a half marathon and I honestly don’t know if I will be able to PR because I haven’t been paying attention to times.  Considering how I’ve lost my motivation for running, if I don’t improve in this race I’m going to be really depressed. It’s not going to happen. It’s not going to happen.
Leave a Reply

