Update on my Focus T25 Progress

I completed the first five weeks of Shaun T’s Focus T25 program and here is my recap! T25 is a DVD workout program that has you do a 25 minute workout, 5 days a week. I didn’t get enough of a “transformation” for a dramatic before/after photo but: I lost a half inch around my ribcage (bra band area), a half inch from my waist, and lost 3 pounds. My biceps stayed the same. It seems like most people lose 5 lbs in the first 5 weeks of this program, so I was happy with my 3 because I lose weight soooo slowly. I was surprised I lost any weight at all because I wore my heart rate monitor and usually only burned 150 Calories per session at most.

At first I thought the .5 inch loss on my waist (measured at the navel) was just due to a variance in measuring; human error. But I did it three times and it’s true: I also moved down a notch in my belt! I’m officially on the last hole of this size Large belt. I was really surprised about the change in my core because one of my thoughts was that the videos didn’t have enough ab work in them.

Another funny change? My calves! I didn’t think to measure calves as a “before”, but I can definitely tell that they toned up. One day I was putting on my shoes and I said “Woah, my calves look diesel.” My husband laughed and said, I was just about to say that. It’s no surprise that I feel the biggest difference in my butt and legs before there are a lot of lunges and jumping moves that work the calves.

After 5 weeks, the videos are starting to get repetitive. The last two weeks, I always thought to myself “Wait, did I do this yesterday?” What I like about these videos is that a beginner can really do them, and there is one person that does a low-impact modified version of the harder exercises. I still can’t do V-situps and I can’t do burpees in my apartment. Some of the moves I still can’t do just because I don’t have the coordination: there are a few exercises that involve you standing on one leg andon your toes.

Like I said, I lost 3 lbs on the program which put me back to my lowest point ever, 135 (that was December, height of marathon training). Unfortunately, during the last week of T25 I got sick and after I finished the last video I fell completely off the wagon: stopped exercising, ate a LOT of pizza, and gained back 2 lbs.

After I finished theses videos, I tried Day 1 of P90x3 (a 30-minute version of P90x) and the moves were so difficult that I gave up after 20 minutes. With T25, a beginner can start at day 1, doing whatever you can, and when you are done you can graduate to the 2nd level of videos that are a little harder. I’ll do the 2nd level of T25 instead of P90x3. Twenty five minutes is not that long, especially when you don’t have to leave your house. There were a couple of times when I did the workouts after I put dinner in the oven and by the time I was finished, dinner was ready. I also can’t believe I woke up at 4:30 am on many mornings just to fit in the workouts. Now that I know I’ve done it, I know I can do it again and I will keep trying.

Note: Most of the reviews out there are planted by BeachBody “coaches” trying to sell you the program. I am NOT a BeachBody coach or involved in selling this program. This is an honest review. The entire DVD set costs $140 new but you can get it on eBay or Craigslist for much less.

Leave a Reply

