Cherry Smoothie

Today’s smoothie:

cherry smoothie

1/2 cup plain 2% Greek yogurt
1/2 cup frozen cherries
2 cups mixed baby greens
1/2 of a banana
1 Tbps flax seeds, ground
Water

248 Calories / 7 g fat / 16 g protein / 19 g sugar

This was my first time using frozen cherries. They weren’t very sweet or flavorful, even by themselves. I’m guessing the lack of flavor is a due to the low quality of fruit and it being frozen, which mutes flavors on things. So I added banana instead of more cherries.

How am I getting all of these fruits? Target has the best selection of frozen fruits for cheap. I didn’t know you could buy frozen mangoes, pineapples, peaches, or cherries. During the spring and summer, I try and stick to my farmer’s markets. Up here that means only berries, pears, or peaches. Now that I have discovered Target fruit, I went all out with frozen, non-organic tropical fruits. It’s the little luxuries in life.

Leave a Reply

