Blueberry Protein Smoothie

I make green smoothies a few times a week when I can get my shit together in the morning. It started by trying Kimberly Snyder’s Glowing Green Smoothie and then I moved on to doing my own thing. Adding lettuce or spinach to your smoothies is doesn’t make a big difference in the flavor. Any time you can add more vegetables to your diet is a plus, and it makes me feel good to know I’ve already had a salad by breakfast. Another benefit is that the added fiber makes you feel fuller. I don’t even have an expensive Vitamix or Ninja; I can get it smooth with just my average blender.

Usually I just throw ingredients together and mentally guess at keeping the calories and sugar low. I think I should start keeping track of my recipes and actually look at nutritional breakdowns.

Here is what I made today:

blueberry protein smoothie

3/4 cup plain 2% Greek yogurt
1/2 cup blueberries
2 cups mixed baby greens
1 Tbsp flax seeds, ground
water

236 calories: 23 g carbs / 8 gm fat / 20 g protein / 12 g sugar (I don’t count the calories in the lettuce)

I always eat fat yogurt because it’s more satisfying and the extra calories are not killers. I’m not sure if I should switch to nonfat for smoothies though, since I am getting fat from the flax seeds. The Cabot Greek Yogurt I tried this week was very sour tasting. I didn’t taste the shake until I got to work and it was too sour so I had to add a packet of splenda. Since 20g protein is rather high, I could adjust it to only 1/2 cup Greek yogurt + 1 cup blueberries, which would bring it to:

233 calories: 30 g carbs / 7 gm fat / 14 g protein / 17 g sugar

I’ve only recently started using flax seeds. Question for you: when a recipe says “ground flax seeds” am I supposed to measure the tablespoon and then grind it? Or grind it first, then measure it out?

One thought on “Blueberry Protein Smoothie

Leave a Reply

