Super Weekend

I am not a sports fan, but I did have a super weekend, in which I won. In life.

On Saturday, I woke up and did a workout. Afterwards, we drove to Allie’s Donuts to pick up a dozen to share. Their donuts are epic. I didn’t even take a picture because I thought to myself, “I already have a lot of pictures of Allie’s Donuts” and of course, I can’t find one anywhere. I’ll just have to go again with the excuse of needing a photo.

Later on, I checked out yet another new brewery: Broad Brook Brewery. This place was different in that it was a bar full of their beer and there were tons of people there just chilling and drinking. We didn’t get a tour, but we did make like the locals and hung out for a beer.

Broad Brook Brewing

Sampler flights at Broad Brook Brewing

 

Even though it’s sitting in a strip mall, they managed to make the inside look like a tobacco barn. It’s worth checking out if you are trapped in suburban Connecticut.

I went home and decided to try making buffalo wings! They are one of my favorite foods but I have never tried them. I boiled them for 10 minutes, then stuck them in the oven at 400 for about 20 minutes. The skin got a little crispy and the meat was really tender and moist. I was surprised at how well the meat turned out.

baked wings

Baked buffalo wings

I made a pile of skinless wings for myself and they were alright too. My buffalo sauce needed work. It was 2 tbsp of butter + 1/2 cup Frank’s sauce + 1 tbsp agave nectar. I was fine with the sauce having less butter, but I think it needed more vinegar which I didn’t have. For the blue cheese dressing, I mixed nonfat yogurt, lemon juice, garlic powder, and blue cheese crumbles. I love it and I’ll be dipping veggies in it all week. Oh, and I ate them with sweet potato fries. That is one “health” substitute that did not work this time. Sweet potato and buffalo were not tasty together.

On Sunday, it was a tropical 40 degrees out so I finally got out to run. This was my first run since the marathon! 3 weeks. My knee pain was gone, it was warm, and I thought it would be a good day. A little more than half way into the 3 mile run, I started getting hip pain. This new hip pain only started after the marathon so it’s very annoying. The pain is in my inner thigh, at the crease where my leg bends. It hurts most when I bend my leg upwards as in marching (or running). I think it is a hip flexor strain.

And finally, during the dreaded superbowl, I had my own party. I ate chicken nachos and leftover wings for dinner, then hung out in bed watching The Bling Ring and knitting. Best party ever.

 

One thought on “Super Weekend

Leave a Reply

