A review of Perfect Fit Protein Powder

In a perfect world, I wouldn’t need protein shake or meal replacement shake (I am learning that they are two different things). Meal replacement shakes are filled with chemicals and fake ingredients, which I normally try to avoid. However, I have to go with what works for me. I’ve tried for years, but I just find it too hard to eat real food for breakfast on weekdays. I still do the instant oatmeal packets but without protein or fat, I get hungry. If I don’t plan ahead with my smoothie, I end up not eating until like 10 am and then I might cave and get something really cheesey and unhealthy. So shakes are my compromise. They keep me in line.

The first protein shake I tried was Whole Foods 365 brand. It was good for adding to my vegetable shakes, but it didn’t mix well by itself without a blender. It was also too sweet for my taste buds. Then I tried GNC Lean Shake 25, and I thought it was perfect. The Cookies & Cream flavor tastes delicious, mixes with a blender bottle, and actually keeps me full. I even brought packets of it when I traveled. Then I noticed that it gave me acne. Like, really bad. I hadn’t seen it that bad since high school. I think it may be because the protein comes from milk. As I finished up my tub of Lean Shake, I started hearing more about mixes with plant-based protein sources such as peas and brown rice.

A few months ago, I got sample packets of Perfect Fit Protein. Perfect Fit Protein powder is an invention of the Tone it Up girls, which has an entire subculture/movement/cult on its own. The protein powder looked good on the outside:

perfect fit protein powder

Perfect Fit by Tone It Up

perfect fit protein powder

Perfect Fit Protein Powder – no sugar, 70 Calories, 3g carbs, 15g protein

The nutrition info looks good, and the ingredients list was nice and clean. The protein comes from brown rice and it’s certified organic! First, I used two packets to make their “famous” protein powder pancake, which skinny chicks on Instagram fucking love. It was very gritty, even in pancake form, and I couldn’t get the overwhelmingly sweet aftertaste out of my mouth.

perfect fit carrot cake smoothie

Carrot Cake Smoothie with Perfect Fit protein powder

Next I tried it in drink form. I made their recipe for a Carrot Cake smoothie. Long story short: still disgusting. I had to chug it down. It was so gritty even though it was blended up with the banana. Gross. Do not buy this.

Good news: I bought a new protein powder and used it in the same exact smoothie recipe. It was sooo good! More on that tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “A review of Perfect Fit Protein Powder

  1. Pingback: Review: Vega One Nutritional Shake | everyday asian

  2. Pingback: Natural and Cheap Alternative to Protein Powder | everyday asian

Leave a Reply

