Restarting January

I feel like I missed out on the energy of January when everyone was diving into their new year resolutions and joining fitness challenge groups. I didn’t want to start a hardcore workout regimen or cut calories during my marathon taper period. And now that the marathon is over, I can’t do much because I’m still injured!

My foot pain went away but I still have pain in the back of my knee when I try to run. I also have a slight cold, which everyone says is common right after a marathon. It’s also pretty common because I live in the arctic circle right now. All of that has kept me from running, even though all I want to do is run! After doing 26.2 miles I felt so confident to do 3 miles lol and now I’m losing that momentum.

I didn’t want to go too long without moving around, so this week I started Shaun T’s T25 workouts. Background on T25: If you are on Instagram, you’ve probably seen a Beach Body coach showing off amazing transformation pictures and pushing their shakes and DVD’s on anyone with eyes. This T25 program (along with P90X, Insanity, and Asylum) is part of their package. I borrowed it, so I did  not pay $140 for the set. Basically you do a 25 minute workout, 5 days a week for 5 weeks (25 days, see?). When I looked up reviews on the program, I couldn’t tell the difference between a lot of peoples’ “before and after” pictures. That is to say, I’d kill to look like their “before” pictures. Womp womp. I don’t want to go balls-to-the-wall and aggravate my knee right now, so instead of going to kickboxing classes I figured I have nothing to lose by trying out these workouts and modifying them to be low impact.

I’m on Day 5. I think I’m not doing it “right” because I have found it hard to work up a sweat. Maybe I’m too worried about jumping too hard and making too much noise. That said, I just did the ab workout and I’m already feeling sore! I haven’t done abs in forever so it feels good.

I’m also starting to adjust my eating habits. I had slipped back into eating flour and grains and even though I didn’t gain weight between Thanksgiving and New Year, my stomach felt bigger. After only a few days of reducing wheat again, I already feel the belly bloat going down and that feels good too! I can’t decide if I should just eat what I feel or go into a full-on diet program, ie counting calories, straight paleo, or whatever the flavor of the month is. I feel like I keep saying (writing) the same thing – I go about a month of eating really good, then it fades away until I notice again and I announce I’m turning over a new leaf. I want to get out of that stupid cycle, but given that I lost 5 pounds all year in 2013… *shrug* Of course, I am actually proud of a lot of my 2013 accomplishments – I gained a lot of muscle doing kickboxing, lost many inches, and definitely made diet changes that stuck. Oh and you know, trained for a marathon.

I’ve reached a state of comfort – comfort with my body, being active as part of my normal lifestyle, and eating lots more vegetables. I think back to how many years I spent hating the way I looked, hating getting dressed some days because I felt so fat. I think about that stuff less and less now. I’m also comfortable with how my life is going in general. I’ll update on that later because I’m waiting on good news but I have a couple of good projects that are going to earn me a thousand karma points. But I’m not the kind of person to rest in the status quo; I always have to push boundaries! This year is gonna be big, I can feel it.

Leave a Reply

