Review: Injinji Toe Socks

In my thorough research on the best running socks (not really that thorough), I heard people say that toe socks were great for reducing blisters. I think my friend Ettya (HI!) also said they helped with plantar fasciitis. When I saw these Injinji Toe Socks
on sale for $9.99 for a 3-pack, I figured I had nothing to lose by trying them out.
injinji_socks.jpgAs you can see above, the socks I tried are “Original Weight” and “mini crew” height. They come in many other weights and heights. Considering these are marked PERFORMANCE, my first impression was that I was surprised at how thick they are. They seem about as thick as my everyday socks. The size small fit my small foot (women’s 6.5) ok, but the toes were a little long. It didn’t bother me though.

I took them for a short 3 mile jaunt and didn’t have any problems. It wasn’t any better or worse than any other sock, though I can wear just about any sock for 3 miles. I expected to feel weird or annoyed about having my toes separated but it didn’t feel that weird at all. I then tried them on a 6 mile run and when it was over, I had blisters on the inner arch of my foot. After that, I didn’t dare try wearing them for anything longer.

For now, I am sticking to my tried-and-true Nike Anti-Blister socks during long runs. I discovered that I really like to wear them after a long run. After running 13, 15, 17, and 20 miles, putting my feet into these felt so relieving. It was like my toes got a chance to spread out and breathe. My toes were like, “Ahhhh….” Lately, my post-run recovery outfit involves toe socks + compression calf sleeves.

I was surprised I saw any benefit at all from toe socks. So while I wasn’t a fan of the original weight socks, I saw enough benefit that I wouldn’t mind trying out the lightweight versions if I can find them on sale.

Leave a Reply

