Day After Thanksgiving

Isn’t it funny how the day after Thanksgiving can be just as ritualized as T-day itself?

Whether you have to work or not, everyone does leftovers the day after. I took the leftover un-mashed potatoes and made home fries for breakfast.
20131129-233641.jpg

And that was the extent of our leftovers cooking. The rest of the food was just eaten up as sandwiches.

The other ritual is Black Friday shopping. I am stuck in a mountain resort town with no big stores in sight. I went into just about every store in town (like 10 stores) and their idea of Black Friday was 10% off. I’m not exxagerating! I only bought a skein of yarn, and it was not even in sale at all.
20131130-100041.jpg

If you are opening your store, at least give me that stupid 10% off. I was stuck with online shopping which is annoying to so with only a phone/tablet. I bought a Kate Spade bag from the “surprise sale”. Then I had the free Groupon bucks so I used it to buy Pro Compression calf sleeves. And that was it. I wanted to buy an external hard drive but I didn’t have the energy to comparison shop using my phone or kindle. I might regret that later when I need that hard drive.

Did you make anything good with your leftovers? Did you get a good deal on Black Friday?

Leave a Reply

