My Slacker Thanksgiving

Happy Turkey Day from sunny Idaho!
20131128-214934.jpg

I miraculously slept in til 9, which is 11 am east coast time! After lazing around, I snuck in half of a travel workout: 10 each of push ups, sit-ups, and squats repeated x 5 rounds. It’s one of my favorite travel workouts because it’s quick, quiet, and takes up minimal space.

Then I called/FaceTime’d all of my family peeps, jealous that they were all eating already. Since it was “warm” (45) and sunny I took a walk after lunch, trying my best to enjoy mountains and nature & shit.
20131128-215718.jpg

20131128-215734.jpg

20131128-215741.jpg
We ended up walking just under 2 and a half miles. That’s less than a piece of pie but it felt good to get some air. I’m coming down with a cold which is sucking up all of my energy. After the walk I took a little nap. When I woke up I did the other half of my workout: another 5 rounds of push-ups, sit-ups, squats. My work for the day was done.

And finally, we feasted. There are only 6 of us and we’re in a rented house, so Thanksgiving dinner was kept relatively simple.

20131128-220233.jpg

20131128-220512.jpg

Sometimes I revel in the crazy, hectic, crowded holidays where you see every friend/family on the planet. However there is merit to the total opposite – secluded, simple, and spending the entire day in my pajamas. I’m thankful for not having to do any cooking this Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

