DIY Instant Oatmeal Packets

When I’m at work I get jealous seeing people make those little packets of oatmeal, so I decided to make my own! I saw Mark Bittman do this but I can’t seem to find the video anymore. The best tip he gave was to put some of the dry oatmeal into a coffee grinder and pulse it a few times. Then add a little bit of this “oatmeal powder” to each serving. It makes the oatmeal thicker and creamier without having to use cream.

oatmealpack

Homemade oatmeal packets

Each little baggie contains:

  • 1/3 cup of quick cooking rolled oats
  • 2 tsp of oatmeal powder
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon chopped pecans
  • pinch of salt

Bam. Instant oatmeal with no chemicals or artificial flavorings. Just add water and microwave.

One serving comes out to just about 200 calories so you might want to make it a little bit bigger if you want a larger breakfast. It was also cheap to make: a two pound bag of Bob’s Red Mill Organic Oats was $3. That’s roughly similar to the cost of one box (8 packets) of organic instant oatmeal packets. The sugar and pecans brings up my cost a little but I will get at least 20 servings of oatmeal from that bag.

I didn’t know that there were so many different types of oats. I used “quick cooking” which will cook in the microwave. You can also get “instant,” which means the oats will cook by just adding boiling water.

It only occurred to me after I made five packets that I could have put it in a mason jar so that it would be reusable and have its own bowl. This project is old news to the interwebz but its new to me. What other flavor combos can I make?

Leave a Reply

