Learning new moves

I checked off my life goal for this week: I went to kickboxing, kinda. It was a weights/circuit class rather than straight boxing but it still counts. I hadn’t been to the gym in a while so I think this was a new class format, and I loved it. I forgot how much I like high intensity circuits!

kickboxinggym
There were 11 stations total and I got to try out a few moves I hadn’t done before:

  • speed bag –  getting the rhythm is hard for everyone but throw in my height and it was double awkward. I’m so short that I felt like I was punching up into the air, Mario-style.
  • squats on the bouncy side of the bosu board – it’s as difficult and awkward as it sounds
  • ropes – I was excited to try these because it’s on Gatorade commercials and the Biggest Loser. I didn’t look so graceful trying to use my spaghetti arms.
  • Squat + flip a sand bag – I ended up really liking this.

I’ve been pretty much been only running for the last few months so getting back into interval training really highlighted the fact that running is so boring. I am also badly in need of muscle work so I hope to make this a regular class.

I noticed that my hand wraps hanging out to dry almost look like mummy halloween decorations:

handwraps

The day after the circuit class, I went to my running class and had an awesomely hard , fast, run. I did 3 miles total and two of those miles without any walking. I know how ridiculous that sounds considering I am training for a marathon, but I am a run/walker so I can count on one hand the amount of times I’ve run two miles straight.

Let’s hope this winning streak continues for my 15 miler this weekend.

Leave a Reply

