Bonus veggie haul

I took it easy and stayed home this weekend which meant a special trip to the Saturday farmer’s market. I love Saturday markets but I never get to go because I go to my mom’s every other weekend, and when I am home I usually try to work an overtime shift. I went a little veggie crazy, considering I just picked up a share a few days before.

farmers market haul

I bought:

  • broccoli
  • radishes, too pretty to pass up
  • rainbow chard
  • apples, which I already made into apple butter
  • apples to make apple cake
  • carrots for snacking
  • sweet potatoes
  • leeks

One of our goals has been to keep cut up celery & carrots in the fridge for snacking to keep from unhealthy things. It’s also helpful having them ready to throw in my lunch bag. I will pack them with two tablespoons of hummus or one tablespoon of almond butter and I haven’t gotten sick of it yet. Knowing that I have those to eat has surprisingly cut down on my afternoon junk-seeking. It’s been maybe 3 or 4 weeks straight of having the veggie snacks and I’m surprised it’s lasted this long. I’m not turning orange yet either. What other vegetables can you use?

P.S. Five days until half marathon #3! I had an awesome run today and did a “Magic Mile” test and got my best non-race mile time! Finally got under 11 minutes. Now I just have to take it easy for my last couple workouts until Sunday.

 

Leave a Reply

