Review: Ava Anderson Eye Cream

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a beauty review! I’ve been using the Ava Anderson Eye Cream for about 3 months now, so I’m ready to give a full glowing review.

ava anderson eye cream

image source: Ava Anderson

It comes in a jar of .5 oz, a generous amount which will definitely last me a long time. I’m guessing it will take over a year to finish up but I’m a little concerned about sticking my fingers in it daily. At $20, it’s a relative bargain considering how long it will last. I’m sure $20 might be considered cheap for people who are used to buying eye creams but it’s certainly one of the most expensive things in my cabinet. I just tend not spend a lot on skin products.

Scent

The first thing you notice about this product is the light rose scent that comes from the Bulgarian rose, rose hip, and primrose oils. It’s light though; I don’t find it overpowering or old-lady-like.

Texture

Since it is pretty much made of only oils, it is very rich and emollient. I can only use this at night because it’s just too oily for daytime use. The upside is that it’s almost like wearing a face masque (the cosmetic kind; not like a Jason mask!) so when I wake up, the oils have all soaked in and the eye area is nice and smooth and moisturized. Even though it’s oily, sometimes it gives me a very slight stinging sensation when I apply it. It’s not enough to concern me though because many face products that have acidic ingredients can sting a little bit, but the acids are good because it speeds up cell regeneration and that is what prevents wrinkles. Some days I feel it, but some days I don’t, so it may depend on what stage of the skin turnover cycle you’re in.

Performance

I have noticed my eye area looking more smooth and less crepe-y, though I wasn’t using any kind of eye product before this. Some of that change might just be due to the fact that I am now giving it any kind of moisture. I definitely notice less puffyness. I am also using a different eye cream during the day (traditional, chemical-filled), so I can’t tell how much of the change is from that too. However, as I said when I wake up in the morning, my eye area looks nice and refreshed from having soaked in the oil from the night before.

Ingredients

Like all Ava Anderson products, every single ingredient is naturally sourced. It’s pretty unbelievable and kind of a dream come true. Ingredients in order: Bulgarian rose oil, aloe leaf juice, rose hip oil, evening primrose oil, shea butter, calendula essential oil, apricot kernel oil, neem extract, xanthum gum, glycerin, Italian everlasting flower essential oil, and lavender essential oil. That’s it!

Let’s take a closer look at the star ingredients. I attached scientific support when I could find it because I always want to emphasize the scientific proof behind natural remedies.

  • bulgarian rose oil – Rose oil has a long history of being used for skin. It’s said to repair skin and prevent wrinkles, but I couldn’t find any science support for it.
  • aloe vera juice – contains lots of enzymes, fatty acids, and vitamins and antioxidants that reduce free-radicals, thereby slowing aging.
  • evening primrose oil – commonly used in natural skincare products because it’s high in fatty acids and is good for eczema
  • rose hip oil – also common in skincare products; anti-inflammatory, good for sensitive skin, promotes skin regeneration, contains vitamin C which would lighten the dark circles
  • Italian everlasting oil – cell regeneration, anti-inflammatory (to reduce puffyness)

I’m really happy with this product given the clean ingredients and the price. I’m just about to turn 30, so I’m not expecting or needing a major transformation, so take that how you will.  I bought this through a consultant friend, but I think you can buy it online through their website if you want to try. I’ve really liked just about everything in their line, I may just have to become a consultant myself.

2 thoughts on “Review: Ava Anderson Eye Cream

Leave a Reply

