Should I run when I’m sick?

Shoot. I officially have the first sickness of the season. Everyone around me at work is sick too. I am scheduled to run 11 mi this weekend – my last long run before the half marathon race. I was actually still planning in trying to do as much as I could tomorrow even if it meant walking/crawling the whole thing. Then I did some googling and found this and many other articles that said the same thing: if you are experiencing below-the-neck symptoms you should not do it. I’ve got head symptoms (sore throat, ear pressure, stuffy nose) but also achy joints & muscles. My cutoff was going to be fever: if I had a fever then I wouldn’t run. But now the experts are saying no no.

I’m worried about what’s going to happen to my training. I don’t know when I’d find the time to do 11 miles during the week. Should I do the 11 miles next Saturday, one week before the actual marathon? I don’t know enough about physiology to know if I would recover enough.

2 thoughts on “Should I run when I’m sick?

  1. Pingback: When bad days become good | everyday asian

Leave a Reply

