Lentil Tacos

I wanted to give these lentil tacos their own post. This recipe checks off a lot of boxes: cheap, filling, low calorie/low fat, vegetarian/vegan.

This is the original recipe. I think I found it on a meal plan in one of my fitness mags. Look at that calorie count! You can eat 3-4 tacos for dinner and be stuffed. I doubled the recipe and made a few changes to boost the flavor and cut back on sodium. I also hate the taste of nonfat sour cream so I used yogurt instead. Here is my version. The calorie count should be mostly the same; not enough to really make a difference.

low fat lentil tacos

Lentil Tacos

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 cups finely chopped onion

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups dried lentils, rinsed

1 tablespoon chili powder (salt free)

1 teaspoon smoked paprika

3 dried chipotle chiles, chopped

5 cups water

1/2 tsp salt or two bouillon cubes

1 cup plain yogurt

1 lime – zested and juiced

small soft corn tortillas

Heat up the olive oil and saute the onions and garlic. Add the lentils and spices and let it cook for a couple minutes until the lentils look dry. Add the chiles, water, and salt. Bring it to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer it until the lentils are soft. It will take close to an hour. Stir it every once in a while too. Salt to taste at the end but I’m trying to be more conscious about the amount of sodium I’m eating, so I did not add any extra. While the lentils are cooking, make the lime yogurt. Just stir together the lime zest, juice, and yogurt. Each taco gets 1/4 cup of lentils and a tablespoon of yogurt.

I made the recipe cheaper by using water instead of broth, yogurt instead of sour cream, soft corn tortillas instead of crunchy, and dried chiles instead of chile in adobo. All of these changes also reduced the amount of sodium. If you want to make it vegan, obviously just leave out the yogurt and check your tortillas to make sure there’s no lard. It is definitely going into my regular rotation and I did not mind eating it for dinner 3 nights in a row.

Leave a Reply

