Farmshare Week 14

20130905-092323.jpg
This week we’ve got more familiar faces:

  • Eggplant
  • Lettuce mix
  • Sweet peppers
  • Spicy peppers
  • Sage
  • Tomatoes
  • Pattypan squash
  • Tomatillos


I was away again this weekend, so I only cooked once. I did make a sautéed corn & tomato side dish for my family in Chicago but forgot to take a pic.

Once I was home, I used up last week’s eggplant to make a “quick” moussaka via Martha Stewart. This was yummy! I don’t like the typical American recipes for eggplant that involve mixing it with tomatoes & zucchini so the flavors in the moussaka made it new. Recipe mods: I used my own marinara sauce instead of the tomatoes, and doubled the amount of cinnamon. I threw in some diced potatoes with the eggplant since I had it laying around. Then I added milk to the ricotta mixture to make it less dense. I probably added a half cup and next time would add even more.
20130905-092341.jpg
I ate that for 2 nights. I might even make it again using the other eggplant.

To use up some peppers and leftover cream cheese, I made no-rice maki rolls for lunch.
20130905-092349.jpg
It’s just cream cheese, sautéed peppers, canned tuna, and a squirt of sriracha all rolled up with nori. That was my lunch for three days and I didn’t mind one bit. Sushi is one of of my fav things to eat, therefore even rice-less sushi is one of my diet food obsessions. You can do so many combinations!

I still have a drawer full of peppers to use this week. Any ideas?

One thought on “Farmshare Week 14

  1. Pingback: Weekly Eats | everyday asian

Leave a Reply

