Farmshare Week 13

We are already at week 13, which means there are only 5 weeks to go 😦

CSA_131

This week was another big haul. We are in the height of veggie season! There was

  • corn
  • pattypan squash
  • delicata squash
  • lettuce
  • beets
  • eggplant (two types)
  • a few varieties of bell peppers and spicy peppers
  • broccoli
  • lemongrass (that big grassy stuff at the top of the pic)

On Saturday we went to the farmer’s market and bought corn to store for winter. Six ears of corn got me almost 3 cups of kernels plus the cobs to make stock. Then after I picked up the CSA, I cut and froze those too.

CSA134

Somehow I only cooked twice this week.

Thursday: Leftovers
Friday: date night out (burgers)
Saturday: bbq at a friend’s house
Sunday: pizza (too tired from canning)
Monday: leftover pizza
Tuesday: rosemary, leek and potato omelet, salad, a mallorca roll

CSA133

Wednesday: BBQ chicken salad

CSA132

Thursday: leftovers

During the week, I also roasted the white eggplant and some sweet peppers from last week, and I’ve got beets and tomatoes roasting as I pack my suitcase. All of that will go in the freezer. We just picked up this week’s haul on Wednesday but on Friday I’m gettin’ on an airplane so I hope it doesn’t all perish by Tuesday. I hope the lemongrass is still here when I get back.  I’d like to use it to make a lemongrass chicken, but I don’t know how long it will keep.

Leave a Reply

