My new ukelele

Check out my new toy: a ukelele!
20130815-084848.jpg
My sweetie gave it to my for our wedding anniversary. We are silly like that. I suck and didn’t get him a gift officially; but I did buy him a Garmin watch & Specialized bicycle the month before.

No, I don’t have any history with this instrument. I messed around with one at a friend’s house it I thought it was fun. My friend pointed out that you don’t even need to know how to play; it sounds pleasant and relaxing no matter how you strum. He’s totally right. It’s like wind chimes

I may have bitten off more than I can chew because watching YouTube tutorials shows that you need to keep really good rhythm and strum really fast. At least on the guitar you can get away with slow strumming but it doesn’t seem to be the case on the “uke”.

By the way, Did you know that the classic Somewhere Over the Rainbow has like every chord in the world? It will be a long time (never) before I can play that. I’m working on the basic: You Are My Sunshine. I also need to learn how to sing. I don’t know which is worse, my singing or my playing. Maybe someday you will get a video.

I have more “hobbies” than anyone I know: my cooking/baking/canning adventure, urban porch gardening, running, kickboxing, knitting, sewing, now this ukelele business. Anyone else have a ton of hobbies? What about failed hobbies?

Leave a Reply

