Farmshare Week 11

week112

I have a great haul this week:

  • lemongrass (the stuff that looks like grass)
  • pattypan squash
  • cucumber
  • kale
  • salad mix
  • peppers
  • dragon carrots (!)
  • green tomatoes
  • eggplant
  • goat cheese (purchased)

Our farmer said he’s been trying to make some other cheeses that should be ready in the coming weeks, so I can’t wait to try them. Those dragon carrots are beautiful! I can imagine a real chef coming up with a graceful dish to highlight those colors. I, on the other hand, will probably just dip them in almond butter. I should make a note to look for these during Thanksgiving.

I barely have any meals from last week. Last Thursday was my niece’s birthday, so we ate out. Friday – Sun were in NYC, and Monday I had dinner with a friend.

My mom made Massaman chicken curry which I had frozen. I reheated it and added zucchini.
week111

Tonight’s dinner was pretty fabulous because I had to make up for not cooking for a week. I cooked chicken in the crockpot along with tomatillo sauce (had a cache of tomatillos from the last few farm shares). Underneath the chicken are some masa cakes that I fried up. And then a big pile of zucchini, peppers, and avocado. That’s our goat cheese on top too. week113

It’s too bad I’m leaving for vacation tomorrow because I want to eat these leftovers for days.

Leave a Reply

