Farmshare Week 10

It’s already been 10 weeks? We have a lot of new stuff this week

week10_2

  • Radishes
  • Napa cabbage
  • herbs – some kind of basil? and sage
  • mustard or collards
  • broccolini
  • eggplant
  • tomatillos
  • pattypan squash
  • two peppers

I was so used to getting the same old thing, I didn’t ask the farmer what was in the bag so that’s why I’m unsure of so many things. Oops. And he also had a secret treat for us to purchase.

week10_1

This innocent looking blob is a hunk of fresh goat cheese! It’s a secret because technically he can only sell to members without going through some other paperwork/certification; so indie that it just came wrapped up in foil like that. It’s definitely different than other goat cheese I’ve tasted because it’s so young. It tastes almost like yogurt, and tastes more fatty and creamy than others. I had to add salt to it to bring out the flavor. I’m thinking I should use it in a recipe with the eggplant or in place of cream/queso fresco in something Mexican-inspired with the tomatillos.

A few days before our pickup, we had to replenish our supply because I’ve been eating and juicing a lot of veggies.

week10_6

At the Farmer’s market, we got tomatoes, chard, yogurt, kale, carrots, lettuce, and eggs.

Some of the meals this week:

Uncured ham steak (also from our CSA farmer), raw beet and carrot salad, and a pan sauce. I am not experienced at cooking pork, so I am very happy this turned out good.

week10_4

The next day, I ate the leftovers with a pile of kale. After the pic, I added a roasted red pepper sauce which I had defrosted.week10_3

We also ate eggs & greens, and I made a gorgeous blueberry & peach tart that didn’t get photographed.

The night of our farmshare pickup, I made this, which I think of as a Margherita Pasta.

week10_5

I love this meal because it’s comes together really quickly, and I can get all of the ingredients at the farmer’s market. I used boxed pasta this time, but if we plan ahead I can even get fresh made pasta.

Margherita Pasta

  • 8 oz of elbow or other small pasta
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • olive oil
  • as much greens as you can handle – I have broccolini and kale, chopped
  • 2 cups sweet tomatoes (grape, cherry, sungold, etc)
  • handful of fresh basil, torn up
  • 6 oz fresh mozzarella, cut into tiny cubes

Put the pasta water on to boil. As you are waiting, chop all of your veggies and start heating up the a huge pan with olive oil. After the water comes to a boil and you add the pasta, sautee the garlic for a minute. Then add your green vegetable and let that cook for a few minutes but don’t overcook. By now, your pasta should be almost done.

Before you drain the pasta, scoop out about a cup of water and set it aside. Drain the pasta. Add it into your huge pan with the veggies. Also add the tomatoes and basil, and stir it up. As that is all heating up, pour in some of that pasta water a little at a time just to give it some moisture but don’t make it saucy. You don’t have to use all of the water. Season it up with salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper if you want. Finally, stir in the mozzarella.

Let me know if you try it!

One thought on “Farmshare Week 10

Leave a Reply

