Farmshare Week 8

Week 8 pickup:
farmshare vegetables

Week 8:

  • braising greens
  • radishes
  • beets
  • salad greens
  • mint
  • lemon basil
  • purslane
  • pattypan squash x 2
  • tomatillos
  • 1 tiny pepper

I already used the greens and radishes tonight, and the pattypan squash will be perfect for grilling during camping this weekend. Any ideas for purslane? I’ve been eating it in salad and smoothies.

I didn’t cook much last week because I was away for the weekend again, and I forgot to snap one day.

Last week’s eats

A simple sauce of farmer’s market tomatoes, garlic, basil, and Italian sausages. On buccatini for him –

week82

And on shredded zucchini for me –

week83

In keeping with tomato season, I made my family a Sunday dinner of lobster fra diavolo. Lobster was on sale for $5/lb, so I cooked & shelled 4 lobsters to make a delicious sauce. I ate mine on zucchini “noodles”. No pics, just Mr. Lobster.

week81

That’s not a hair in the background. I swiped my niece’s discarded coloring pages to soak up flying lobster juice.

On Monday night I made an epic grilled dinner of flank steak (pre-marinated from Costco), zucchini, corn, and mashed cauliflower and I forgot to take a picture! We never use the grill and I never cook steak so it was a big deal.

Tuesday was dinner out because my brother-in-law was visiting from NY.

And tonight, eggs with braised greens and sauteed radishes:

week85

I think I’ve mentioned before that I don’t like radishes very much, but you can cook them and they don’t really taste like anything. This is my first time trying it as a fake potato hash, and it was cool.

Next week should be interesting because I’m going camping!

Leave a Reply

