Ava Anderson Non-Toxic: Lipstick review

I am excited to share this new discovery with you. Not only is it a new natural cosmetics company, it is also local to me: Ava Anderson Non-Toxic. I can’t remember where I read this, but I think Ava Anderson products boast 0 or very low scores on the EWG scale.My friend mentioned that she knew a sales consultant, so I ordered a couple of things to try out…
First we have the lip gloss. The color is “Tutu” and it looks like a hint of pink in the tube. Right now this is the only color gloss they have. I didn’t bother swatching it because it just looks clear on my lips.
image source: Ava Anderson

image source: Ava Anderson

This is the ingredients list exactly as it appears on the product: organic Jojoba, organic avocado oil, organic sweet almond oil, organic meadow foam seed oil, organic shea butter, organic cocoa butter, organic grape seed oil, organic beeswax, candelilla wax, organic purple carrot extract, organic spearmint essential oil.

How great does that sound? With all of those oils, it feels light and luxurious when you put it on and it makes your lips nice and silky. Of course, because it’s all oils, the shine doesn’t last very long. On the other hand, you don’t have to feel guilty about re-applying because there is not one toxic ingredient in there!
Next up is the lipstick. The shade is called Hot Cider.
Ava Anderson non-toxic lipstick
It looks scary dark in the tube, but the color is true to its name: an orange with a tiny bit of red undertone. It doesn’t have the brown undertones that these shades tend to have. It is actually very sheer when you put it on:

Ava Anderson non-toxic lipstick swatch

Ingredients: ethylhexyl isononanoat, pistacia vera seed oil, beeswax,mangifera indica (mango) seed butter, jojoba esters, candelilla wax, calcium sulfate, cocoa seed butter, triisostearyl citrate, copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax, mentha viridis (spearmint) leaf oil, melia azadirachta flower extract and melia azadirachta fruit extract, coccinia indica flower extract, coccinia indica fruit extract, eclipta prostrata extract. Again, it’s all nourishing, feel-good ingredients.
There is no flavor, and the scent is only a very slight mintyness from the spearmint oil. I appreciate this a lot. I hate it when I find a lipstick you like but I can’t stand the smell or flavor. Even though the color is sheer, the color is concentrated. I love this formulation a lot. It feels light and smooth, more like a gloss or balm, but the color is definitely there. I feel self-conscious about putting up a picture, but I guess a makeup review is pretty useless without pics:

Ava Anderson non-toxic lipstick
Ava Anderson non-toxic lipstick
It’s the perfect lipstick for a no-makeup look if you have medium to tan skin. I tried to order every color in the catalog (there were 4 at the time) but this is the only one in stock because they are discontinuing them! Sad panda.
The company makes skin, hair, pet, and home products so definitely give them a try. They also operate on a sales-consultant model so if you really like the stuff, you may even want to consider becoming a representative. I can’t say I’m not tempted to become a rep because I like what I’ve tried so far. I still have a few more products in my stash so be on the lookout for more reviews on Ava Anderson products.
Leave a Reply

