Exploring Connecticut, Part 2

It was still early and the day was gorgeous so Brian and I said bye to the friends and we stopped at Plan B to have cocktails and share some truffle fries.

Afternoon snack at Plan B: Makers 46 cocktail and truffle fries

Afternoon snack at Plan B: Makers 46 cocktail and truffle fries

As we pulled out of Plan B, I spotted a sign that said FREE CONE DAY. Yup. This little ice cream shop happened to be giving out free cones that day. How can you say no to free ice cream?

hike10

I went for Kahlua Heath Bar flavor while Brian had salted caramel. J. Foster does “premium” ice cream – so it was super rich, high fat content, very little air. I ate it all by myself.

Then I said ok, let’s go home. But as we started to drive home I saw a sign for a vineyard so we had to stop there too. Unfortunately there was no tasting that day due to an event. Waahh. But the shop was also a great farmstand and market of local goodies. I picked up a bottle of red, ciabatta bread, burrata, tomatoes, asparagus, and zucchini and we made a dinner out of it that night.

Ciabatta bread, burrata, panzanella salad (and basil from Mom's garden)

Ciabatta bread, burrata, panzanella salad (and basil from Mom’s garden)

I also bought strawberries and rhubarb, which I haven’t cooked yet. If it were up to me, I’d just keep eating the strawberries raw but Brian has been begging for rhubarb all season. hike07

hike08

It was a great day, but still kind of strange. Even though I grew up in CT, I swear I have never done that much country-ish, nature-y, “Connecticut” stuff in my life. Is this nesting? Don’t get me wrong, I still hate Connecticut 🙂

Leave a Reply

