Heublein Tower, exploring Connecticut part 1

On Saturday (the day before my long run) some friends invited me on a hike. This concept where you do active things as leisure activities? Still kinda new to me. I don’t hike very much, and I ‘m still not much of a nature girl, but I’m trying to put in the effort wherever I can. I even cancelled working overtime hours ($$$) to do it! We did a short, easy walk up to Talcott Mountain.

The trail is approximately 1.5 miles each way, and it’s easy-moderate intensity. We had kids in our group who did fine, and there were plenty of older people & grandparents walking slowly on the trail too.

A hazy view of Connecticut

A hazy view of Connecticut

It was a hazy day so the views weren’t so great. Sometimes I forget that Connecticut can be so rural looking. I heard that the Appalachian Trail goes through part of this range.

At the top of the trail is the Heublein Tower, a former summer home for rich peeps. They let you go all the way up the stairs to look out from the observation deck so I did, but it made me a little dizzy.

Heublein Tower

Heublein Tower

fireplace foundation, Heublein Tower

fireplace foundation, Heublein Tower

My group spent a long time on the tower grounds, just resting, enjoying the views, and having a picnic lunch:

picnic lunch

picnic lunch

I stalked this cardinal to try and get a picture, and this is the best I could do:

cardinal

spying on a cardinal

But what goes up, must come down. Going down the mountain took about a third of the time as it did to go up.

Heublein Tower trail, Talcott Mountain

Heublein Tower trail, Talcott Mountain

I found myself thinking: this trail was short and gentle enough that I think I can see myself attempting to trail run it. I’ve never really done any trail running, let alone UPHILL. (Don’t worry, even I wouldn’t consider this a mountain). The only thing that worries me though is the loose gravel paving the steep parts. Any advice?

Even though it never really felt like work, by the time I got back in the car I had burned 474 Calories! That’s so cool!

474 calories

474 calories

It’s pretty cool to do burn calories doing stuff that isn’t just formal exercise. I think I might enjoy it?

Leave a Reply

