Race Recap: Life Without Limits 5k

There was a Living Social deal for the Life Without Limits 5k in Manchester, CT so I got my family together for a team of 4 (or 4.5, counting the kid). This was my first 5k since St. Patrick’s Day and my first race since the terrible half marathon. I’m very happy with my results.

Life Without Limits 5k

What I wore: Old Navy Active top, Nike running skirt, Nike Lunarglide 4 sneakers

Mt. Nebo State Park

The shady trails of Mt. Nebo State Park

The course went on suburban roads as well as some state park trails, so most of it was shady and scenic. It was the hilliest course I have ever run, which is surprising since this was supposed to be a wheelchair friendly race. Cruelly, even the finish line was at the top of a hill. High five to those joggers who were pushing their loved ones in wheelchairs. Despite all of the hills, I only missed my PR by about 30 seconds and this is from gun time because there was no chip timing. I’m very happy with that. If there weren’t hills, I would’ve had a pretty nice record but oh well. I wouldn’t mind going back to this park to try some trail jogging.

fierce

Me & my niece: This was her “kicking butt” pose.

This was my 4yr old niece’s “first” 5k – her mommy pushed her in the stroller, but I met up with them at the last quarter mile and took the stroller so they could walk it in. The little champ ran up the hill at the end, even letting go of Mom’s hand. Hilariously she stopped right AT the finish line and we had to pull her through. It was the first 5k for another one of my teammates too; it’s nice to introduce new people into the scene.

For the rest of the day, I lounge around, went to a strawberry festival, then headed out to a birthday party where I ate a ton of good Asian food and had a much deserved drink.

draaank

Watery Chivas is not my #1 choice but for some reason it’s very popular in my family. Is it an Asian thing?

Leave a Reply

