Florida recap part 2: Disney Port Orleans Resort

After spending a few days with my grandparents, we checked into the Port Orleans Riverside Resort at Walt Disney World. Nope, I didn’t even visit the parks but I had a great time just hanging at the resort for a couple days.

I have been to Disney World the parks a bunch of times since I was a kid, but this was my first time staying at the resort. As cheesy as it is, it really is a totally different experience. My sister and my 4yr old niece came with us so it was nice watching a little kid have a special time.

Port Orleans Riverside - Beautiful views everywhere

Port Orleans Riverside – Beautiful views everywhere

I noted on the reservation that we were newly married because I heard about the buttons they give you when you are celebrating something special. I am still in my first year of marriage and I eloped, so I am going to soak up this “I just got married” thing anywhere I can get it. I wore my button and all of the Disney employees congratulated us 🙂 I even considered buying the Minnie Mouse bride ears with the veil but I thought that would be over the top.

just married button

the Happily Ever After button. I figured I can only legitimately get this once in my lifetime (probably…) so I should scoop it up now.

I was assigned a room in the Alligator Bayou section, which is a more rustic bayou theme. Unfortunately as I started unpacking my stuff, I noticed that the carpets were really wet. It turns out they had just shampooed them, so when I called to request a move, they put us on the other side of the resort which is a more formal plantation theme. It was even more pretty, and they gave me a resort credit for the inconvenience.

our fake mansion home

walking down the aisle of our fake mansion home

By the way: I chose the Port Orleans Resort because we met in college in New Orleans. It’s a special place for us!

After settling into the room, we went swimming in the main swimming hole. They have 5 pools! Then it was time to head to dinner. I originally planned a cheap dinner out in Orlando, but since we got the resort credit I took my family out to Wolfgang Puck’s.

We didn’t even have to drive. We hopped on scenic boat ride that took us right to the Downtown Disney shopping area. The ride was so pretty:

Port Orleans French Quarter

Port Orleans French Quarter

horse and carriage ride

Is that a princess in there?

At dinner, I started with a weird blue margarita. I was shocked that the margarita (with premium liquor) was only $10. At Disney??!! Note to adults: Alcohol is priced normally! For dinner, I had this greek salad with salmon. It might have been because of the giant margarita but I only ate half of the salad, and had the other half for lunch the next day. It was so good.

greek salad

Greek salad at Wolfgang Puck’s Cafe – butter lettuce, feta cheese, roasted red peppers, kalamata olives

Brian had the bacon wrapped meatloaf. It was so yummy but strangely I did not miss eating it.

bacon wrapped meatloaf

Wolfgang Puck’s Cafe – bacon wrapped meatloaf, mashed potatoes, fried onions

After dinner, we walked around and I stopped at Bongo’s to get an iced cortadito. But after my heart started pounding from the caffeine, I decided I needed this Grey Goose lemonade slushie to balance it out. It totally worked. I slept like a baby.

grey goose slush

Grey Goose + lemonade slush. This only cost $9!

I bought these cute rice krispie treats as souvenirs for my friends.

mickey treats

Mickey rice krispies

I later went back and grabbed this adorable Minnie Mouse apron for myself. I figured I can also use it as a costume someday.

disney15

Disney sweets and a Minnie Mouse apron

The next day, I set my alarm to try and squeeze in a run. (Sidenote: I think it is very curious that the resort doesn’t have any workout facilities. Every tiny decision at Disney World has a psychological reason to it, so I wonder what this one is about?) It was already 79 degrees by the time I walked outside at 7:30. I was in a good mood though and excited to run in a new place.

running at disney

the ‘before’ picture: “Look at me, I’m so happy to be here!”

And 5 minutes in, I wasn’t feeling so happy:

running

the ‘after’ picture: “uggg. running. why do I do this to myself?”

The loop was 1.7 miles, so I did it twice plus a few zig-zags between buildings. Most of it was shaded, but even when it was full sun, I distracted myself with the views:

river at Port Orleans

views from the trail

Port Orleans French Quarter

sunny but scenic on the river

I don’t think I’ve ever sweat so much in my life. By the time I finished, it was 85 degrees! My clothes were wet. I looked like hell. My brain was foggy. But I felt so proud of myself for doing it. I recorded 3.25 miles not counting warm-up/cool-down, and made my target tempo pace. I chugged an entire bottle of Powerade (I normally wouldn’t drink that after a short run) and a bottle of water . Then I took an extra long, cold shower.

We wanted to check out the Boardwalk before going home, but the parking lot was full so we just turned around and went the airport. Kind of a non-magical ending to the experience but we’ll always remember the good times.

Downtown Disney

I had a super fun vacation and still managed to stay active, eat healthy, and indulge a little. These new habits are really starting to stick.

When I got home, I already wanted to go back so I looked up plans for the Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon in November. But guess what? It’s sold out! Six months away, and already sold out! Boohoo. Then I looked into the Marathon Weekend in January 2014. Half marathon is sold out! That leaves the Princess half marathon, which just went on sale two days ago and is 60% gone. I’m kind of holding that date for something else though so I can’t book anything. Bummer! runDisney is what inspired me to start running, and doing one of the big races is on my bucket list. The Wine & Dine race is my jam because I love food, and because I think that all-night party sounds rad. I guess this means I will have to wait a year and a half to do it.

Next vacations on my calendar are camping and San Juan, Puerto Rico!

Leave a Reply

