New gear review: Marika Balance Collection Capris, and a Marika sale

Image

Photo credit: Groupon Goods

I was lamenting my lack of workout pants when a Groupon Goods deal popped up: a pair of Marika Balance Collection capris for $17 and free shipping. It’s hard to find a cheap bottoms, which is why I was wearing & washing my same 3 pants over and over. Anyway a week later, I tried them on and I love them. They are a higher quality finely woven cotton than the other cheap pants I buy.

Image

Photo: Groupon Goods

I chose the geomatric print above. I will warn you though, that they are 88% cotton and the rest spandex, I wouldn’t wear them for running. I prefer something lighter and more moisture wicking. The fabric is really soft and snug without being constricting. They would be great for any type of fitness class. I would wear them for kickboxing. I especially like that the pants have a higher rise, so you can keep your belly covered when doing crazy moves like burpees, punches, yoga stretches, or whatever you fancy. Hip-huggers don’t cut it for me in the gym. The upside of these being mostly cotton is that they are subtle enough so that I could even wear them as leggings with a tunic or dress. They are worth it for $17 however there is an even better deal out right now.

This isn’t a paid ad; I’m always down for shopping on a budget, and workout clothes can be so expensive so I thought I’d share this with all of you: Marika has a lot of stuff popping up on Groupon Goods lately. Right now, you can pay $12 for one capri, legging, or skort + $3 shipping. If you buy two, you get free shipping so it would be $24 for two bottoms. Pretty awesome since they retail for for around $50 each. Plus you get a free water bottle with every order.

These items are from the Magic Collection which claims to have “tummy control” whatever that means. I don’t know if that sounds comfortable. Also, one of the product descriptions reads: “Inner power mesh provides maximum tummy control, slimming side panels give the leg a slenderized tone look and our exclusive ELASTA-TIGHT two-way stretch fabric makes you look so great, you’ll be walking into the gym with new confidence and motivation to keep up those workouts!” I don’t agree with perpetuating this notion that women are stressed out about looking fat in the gym. Nevertheless, it is a good bargain.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter (@vilay) and Instagram (@everydayasian) too!

Leave a Reply

