Race Recap: Harpoon 5 Miler

My partner ran the Harpoon 5 Miler today and this was the first time I got to watch a race as a spectator

Harpoon 5 Miler

Hanging as a a spectator at the 2013 Harpoon 5 Miler

It was such an awesome event I thought I’d do a re-cap anyway. First of all, this was the best pre and post-race festival of any race. There were plenty of port-a-johns, water even before the event, and Clif was a sponsor handing out Clif bars and energy gummies even before the race.

Although there was no “race expo” and no medal, this race had the best free swag I’d ever seen. As a racer, you got: a drawstring bag and cute (cotton) Harpoon shirt, Clif bar & chips, a cool bandanna, plastic pint glass, coupons (for New Balance!), a food ticket, and three beer tickets. Even the bandanna was cute: it says “Love Beer, Love Running, Harpoon.” At the festival booths, I snagged a few Clif bars, Clif shot gummies, a t-shirt from Scion, and a few little things like beer koozies and keychains. Right after the race started, I happened to be walking past the registration table as they were packing everything up and I asked if I could have a race shirt. Hey, all of the runners were already off and there were boxes of them left. To my delight, she said yes! It’s a New Balance shirt, so even though it’s cotton the quality is nice.

Harpoon 5 Miler t-shirt

Harpoon 5 Miler t-shirt

The race had 3700 runners, and you can only get in through a lottery which is why I wasn’t able to run this one. Let me tell you, if you are a slow beginner like me this crowd is a little scary. These people are fit and fast. Close to 80% ran sub-10:00 miles, and over half ran sub-9:00 miles. That makes me a little scared to enter next year. The crowd also really got into the fun of the costume contest. Here are a few of my favorites:

running team

Kelly Kapowski team

Red Jaguars from Legends of the Hidden Temple

Red Jaguars from Legends of the Hidden Temple. Those helmets!

mime runner

Mime. That’s dedication to the cause!

blue man runner

speechless

keg costumes

These keggers were great cheerleaders

baywatch runners

Some eye candy

We ended up staying at the festival for a couple of hours because it was rocking. And because we couldn’t waste those free drink tickets.

New Balance Mascot

A giant New Balance sneaker. Why not.

Harpoon Honey Cider

Harpoon Honey Cider

OH, and during the festival I spent $10 on raffle tickets. As we left, I went to check the board and I WON a $50 restaurant gift certificate! Even though I didn’t run, I had a ridiculously lucky day and made out like a bandit. Maybe I should just stick to watching races?

harpoon 5 miler

Cheers to my speedy sweetie

2 thoughts on “Race Recap: Harpoon 5 Miler

    • Ooh I forgot another cool part: they gave out awards for various division winners & each winner got beer stein & a case of Harpoon. Thanks for coming by!

Leave a Reply

