Running at Disney World

My first ever 5k was during the Princess Half Marathon a little over a year ago and ever since then I’ve been dying to do a runDisney race, specifically the Wine & Dine half marathon, the Tower of Terror 10-miler, and the Princess Half Marathon. Unfortunately it doesn’t look like any of those will happen this year.

But I found a little cheat to tide me over until I can actually do a Disney race. I just booked myself a quick trip to Orlando in June. I’m actually going to visit my grandparents, but I will be spending the last night at one of the Disney hotels. I’m not even visiting the parks; I think I’ll be perfectly happy just lounging in the pool surrounded by the lush scenery.

This will be my first time even staying at the Disney resort so I’m a little curious about doing the whole “resort life” thing. Even though I won’t be doing a big fancy race, I am excited about trying out some of their jogging & walking trails. From what I have read, each hotel has a jogging loop. I had no idea the Disney hotels offered this and I think it’s so cool. The thought of jogging on a perfectly flat, foliage-filled, no-pothole, no-cracks, pedestrian-only route sounds like a DREAM.

Does anyone have experience jogging at the resorts? I wonder if I can use the trail if I am not staying at that resort. For example, I’m not staying at the Wilderness Lodge or Animal Kingdom Lodge but I’m guessing those trails would be the coolest.

Leave a Reply

